Wheeleage Tax--Wabasha County

Wabasha County will not implement at wheelage tax after county commissioners failed to second a motion that called for its approval.
                 The Wabasha County Herald reported that a motion from Commissioner Donald Springer to approve the tax failed for a lack of a second.
                 The Rocehster Post-Bulletin reports five counties in southeastern Minnesota did approve the ten dollar tax. They are: Olmsted, Mower, Goodhue, Dodge and Steele Counties.
                  Winona County Commissioners in June took no action on the wheelage tax. Fillmore County also took no action
                   Funds from the tax go to fund road and bridge projects in each county.
                  The 2013 legislature passed a law allowing each county to make its own decision.
                   The deadline for action was Wednesday.
                   37 of the 87 Minnesota counties will have a wheelage tax as of this coming January First.

A   A   A