Frack Sand Advisory Committee

A statewide citizen's advisory committee examining frack sand mine issues holds it first meeting Wednesday.

The committee meets in St. Paul and is expected to hold monthly meetings until recommendations are determined.

The 15-member committee was appointed by the Minnesota Pollution Control Agency and the Minnesota Department of Natural Resources, and will look at possible rulemaking and the regulation of silica, or frack, operations in Minnesota  
Industry representatives include Tom Rowecamp, the operator of Winona County's only sand mine in Saratoga Township.

Citizen members include Vance Ready of Winona County, Kelley Stenage of Houston County, and Katie Himanga of Lake City.

Among those representing local government will be Lynn Schoen of Wabasha.

A   A   A